The Diverse Cumbria Awards 2017

The Diverse Cumbria Awards 2017 happened on Friday 19th May at the Hallmark Hotel, Carlisle.

Following the huge success of the first Diverse Cumbria Awards in 2016, The Ink Events Company put on a fantastic ceremony for it's second year, marking the Awards firmly in Cumbria's annual calendar.

Around 100 guest were greeted with a free drink on arrival and time to network, something the organiser Ben thinks is a key part of the evening. A hot buffet was served after all guests were greeted by this years Host, Lynn Marsland from Cumbria Partnership NHS Foundation Trust.

Claiming the main sponsor was Cumbria Partnership NHS Foundation Trust jointly with North Cumbria University Hospitals NHS Trust, who both also sponsored the Public Sector Champion of the Year Award.

Cumbria's Police and Crime Commissioner, Peter McCall sponsored the Community Group/ Organisation of the Year Award, and ITV Border News sponsored the Community Volunteer of the Year Award.

Event sponsors this year included Carlisle City Council and Cumbria and North Lancashire Health Branch of Unison.

Hosts from each sponsor awarded their chosen awards joined on stage by the previous years winners.

All winners this year were chosen by the previous years winners forming this years judging panel, who met early in the year to discuss who they thought should win.

A few surprises were in the mix this year with a double win for the Community Group/ Organisation of the Year, and 2 special mention certificates. 

After a huge number of nominations came in for the category the judges had a very hard time to agree upon one winner, so Ben agreed they could have two winners if they wished, and it still took them nearly an hour to decide who these winners should be.

The winners for the 2017 Awards were as follows:

Community Group/ Organisation of the Year:

Outreach Cumbria

Triple A Project (All About Autism)

Community Volunteer of the Year:

Jo Haigh

Business Champion of the Year:

HDM Spice Shop Carlisle

Public Sector Champion of the Year:

Unity Cumbria

Positive Role Model of the Year:

Debbie Wood

Lifetime Achievement Award:

Martin Reeves

Special Mention Certificates:

The Well - Barrow

Carlisle Refugee Action Group

Date and location for the 2018 Awards will be announced in October where Nominations will open shortly after Christmas.